Food is Medicine

As I reflect on the past year and all that I went through, I’m trying to understand the science behind the body and why things happen the way they do. The gut microbiome is incredibly complex and hard to understand. My doctor told me that the Candida weakened my immune system, and now my recent test results show that I might have some immunological deficiencies. Well if all that is the case, why have I not been sick even one time in the past year? Of course, I was sick, but not once did I get a cold, a fever, the flu, a sinus infection, a respiratory infection, or even my usual seasonal allergies. I avoided all of those problems that we all inevitably face from time to time. It has to be because of food. I nourished my body in every possible way. I took a year off from sugar, processed foods, and all that other crap that we plague our bodies with. We truly don’t realize the damage we do to our bodies for a few seconds of enjoyment from food. Sugar and other processed junk causes inflammation in the body, and inflammation is the root cause of most diseases. Don’t get me wrong, I love food. I fucking love it. But seeing how my body could heal from diet has made me much more aware of what I put in my body. Food is love, food is life, but food is also medicine. Even though I am now able to eat things that I wasn’t for a whole year, I won’t abuse it. I did my body so good, and I don’t want to undo all of that. I will treat myself to donuts, I will treat myself to ice cream, and I will treat myself to pitchers of Moscow Mule with my bff, but I will not over do it. Things like that should be limited to special occasions. That way, we have something to work towards and foods to look forward to, but we wont put our bodies in shock. Eat well all week and have a treat on the weekends. If you do right by your body, your body will do right by you. Food is medicine.

*I recommend watching the documentary Sugar Coated

Leave a Reply

