Don’t Let The Holidays Get You Down

So this time last year, I was a couple months into my Candida diet and absolutely dreading the holidays. I kept thinking about my step dad’s stuffing, my mom’s creamed corn, and my grandma’s homemade rolls and coconut cream pie. The thought of not being able to touch any of these culinary traditions seriously made me miserable. Instead of heading home early to help my mom prepare, I had to wake up early to make myself an entire Thanksgiving spread, completely moderated to fit my depressing, gut-healing diet. What is thanksgiving without gluten, sugar, and dairy? Sounds boring, right? Well, I reluctantly made it work. My mom and step dad hooked it up with an organic turkey, and I made myself some slammin’ sides and gut-friendly desserts.

If you’re going through something like I did this holiday season, I’m with you. I know how much it sucks. Believe me, I cried over it and felt super sorry for myself. God, I was really annoying. But when all was said and done, my special thanksgiving wasn’t half bad. At least I was surrounded by family and had food in front of me. My situation could have been a lot worse.

Below are some recipes I used, and some recipes that I think look good. Best of luck. It won’t be this way forever. Don’t let the holidays get you down. This time last year, I was super sad, super skinny, and never thought I would be able to enjoy food again. Well here I am, prepping to smash Thanksgiving this year. I’m looking extra forward to the leftovers sandwiches come 9 PM Thanksgiving night 🙂

  1. Roasted Winter Squash with Caramelized Onions and Olives
  2. Thyme Roasted Sweet Potatoes
  3. Pomegranate Butternut Squash Quinoa
  4. Mashed Cauliflower
  5. Fennel Apple Slaw
  6. Whipped Japanese Sweet Potatoes
  7. Raw Cranberry Sauce
  8. Apple Cranberry Stuffing
  9. Stuffed Turkey Breasts 
  10. Herb Roasted Turkey Legs
  11. Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Squash 
  12. Herb Gravy 
  13. Coconut Ginger Cookies
  14. Cinnamon Pecan Crumb Cakes
  15. Vegan and Grain Free Pumpkin Pie
  16. Apple Crisp
2 thoughts on “Don’t Let The Holidays Get You Down

Leave a Reply

